The Fire In David: My 100W Sprint Contest Entry

Usually I don’t do contests that I find online, but this one was so quick and fun that I couldn’t resist. J.C. Martin, novelist and blogger, established a contest to write a story based on a prompt in just a 100 words. It’s like the 100-yard dash, except the only muscles that get taxed are my brain and my fingers.

The prompt was “Smoke from the flames curled and twisted in the breeze…” For those of you word-counters, the title and the prompt don’t count as part of my 100 words, according to contest rules.

Without further ado, here’s what I came up with. It’s called “The Fire In David”, if you want to give such a short piece a title.

“Smoke from the flames curled and twisted in the breeze. They made David’s eyes sting. Benjamin Cross’ house lay before him: a ruin of burning rubble. David’s ears still stung from the screams.

David wept. He hadn’t meant it to end like this. All he had wanted was revenge for what Benjamin had done to his sister. David had trusted in the fire of rage, and it had consumed him.

The fire left him two choices. He could flee into the mountains, douse his rage in the snow, and begin a new life. Or he could wait for the police, let his rage devour him, and fight to the death.”

Check out the contest details and vote on your favorite entries here. Voting starts August 4th, 2012.

2 responses to “The Fire In David: My 100W Sprint Contest Entry

  1. I like the twist on the word fire, how you use it as an adjective!

Leave a Reply

