Writing A New Chapter, Flannery O’Connor Style

You haven’t heard from me in a while about The Stand (Part Two of The Kingdom Trilogy). For those new to the blog, I’m writing a fantasy trilogy, and this summer I’m writing the second volume.

Yesterday I finished a chapter that I adore. It takes place in the middle of The Stand. Arman’s with Menemaeus, chasing an enemy into what could be considered the most dangerous place in Upper Nola. Of course, in classic Kingdom Trilogy fashion, nothing goes according to plan. In this case, that puts them in an even worse situation than ever.

I loved how it turned out. There’s a crucial passage towards the end of this chapter that I sincerely did not see coming. That’s reassuring. My favorite Flannery O’Connor short story, “Good Country People”, was written that way. Flannery wrote that she didn’t know that she was going to write the climax that she did until just before she wrote. It caught her off-guard, and it gave her writing special power. To this day, that short story hits me like a ton of bricks.

I, also, didn’t realize what I was going to write at the end of my chapter until I got there. It floated down unexpectedly, and I went with it on a hunch. For now, I’ll tell you that Arman finds a surprise that he could never have predicted.

Will I still have plenty of editing to do when I swing back around? Of course I will. I always hate what I write. However, I think I have a foundation here that I can work off of. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I want to go write me another chapter.

Leave a Reply

