The Storyteller Reports: Book Trailers Are Doomed

This morning, The Wall Street Journal‘s “MarketWatch” reported that HarperCollins released a trailer for their graphic novel The Art of War. It wasn’t too bad, actually. Watch it if you like. It’s nothing groundbreaking, but I thought it was better done than most trailers I’ve seen.

If you know a book trailer that is exceptionally well-done, please let me know, because I rarely see one. That Art of War trailer is the only one I have ever seen that actually makes me want to read it. I decided not to shoot one for The Quest (Part One of the Kingdom Trilogy) because I didn’t think I would have time to turn out a product worth watching.

Honestly, they aren’t effective. Of all of the other blogs which I read from other indie authors, not one of them mentions book trailers as a contribution to their success.  I don’t think they’re going to last. I might shoot something for The Stand (Part Two of the Kingdom Trilogy), but if I do, I’ll probably be doing it because it is an excuse to make a movie. In 10 years no one will be using book trailers.

Leave a Reply

