Monday Meditations: Raging Desire

Every human being has that one moment where they crave something. They crave it so badly that they just might burn their whole world down to get it. From Dido from The Aeneid, to Lester Burnham in American Beauty, we find these urges at the core of good fiction. Somehow I’m not surprised to find out that a rock band found one of its finest expressions in music. Enjoy.

SONG OF THE WEEK

“All My Life” by Foo Fighters

I have never heard a song that conveys crazed desire so well as this one. From the opening, restless guitar riff, all the way through Dave Grohl’s hints and howls, and through the final barrage of his screaming, you will be hurled headlong into a torrent of passion. Every time I hear it, I think of desperate men. This is the definitive soundtrack for Allen Ginsberg’s “Howl”.

QUOTES OF THE WEEK

“All my life I’ve been lookin’ for somethin’

Somethin’ never comes; never leads to nothin’

Nothin’ satisfies but I’m gettin’ close

Closer to the prize at the end of the rope…”

Foo Fighters

Leave a Reply

