Notes Of A Storyteller: Abraham Freaking Lincoln

I should have known it was going to happen at some point. In the end, I’m surprised it didn’t happen sooner. Ladies and gentlemen, if you haven’t seen it, let me introduce you to the trailer for (I will try not to choke on these words) Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.


I was starting to write up an angry rant about Hollywood dishonoring one of America’s famous presidents, but I put myself on a leash.

“Calm down, Sean,” I said to myself calmly. “They’re just having fun. Nobody’s going to take this seriously.”

And no one will. In fact, as I soothe my murderous rage, I wonder if this will foster more interest for Lincoln in the first place. Might somebody go read some books about what actually happened in Lincoln’s presidency? Might a group of students force their A.P. U.S. History teacher to go watch it them, and wind up prompting a 3-hour discussion about the Civil War? This might actually be a good thing.

At any rate, any tribute to Lincoln will be refreshing. The fact that a president is being celebrated (in whatever odd fashion) instead of being torn down is deeply refreshing. If only we could salute Barack Obama like that.

I’m still worried, though. This is an action-adventure, after all. I doubt too many people will be interested in finding out more after watching. If a biopic of Lincoln came out instead of this, I don’t think it would be nearly as successful. It’s trailer certainly wouldn’t get as much interest. Something about that is wrong.

Am I saying everyone needs to put on a pair of glasses and trade their social life for books? No, and may I never demand such a horrible thing. But I do want more people to be aware of their heritage. One day, I hope, America will have more events on this scale to celebrate American presidents, and more people excited about them. I hope those tributes are better than a nonsensical action caper.

UPDATE

More than one friend has tactfully reminded me that there is indeed a Lincoln biopic coming soon. Steven Spielberg is directing and Daniel Day-Lewis is starring. I bow my head in shame. Still, I wonder how many people will be interested in the biopic, and how many will be interested in the action movie.


3 responses to “Notes Of A Storyteller: Abraham Freaking Lincoln

  1. There is a Lincoln movie coming out next fall from a little director by the name of Steven Spielberg and with a little actor named Daniel Day-Lewis in the title role. I’m sure it will get much, much, much more interest than Vampire Hunter. I know am already anxiously awaiting it.

    P.S. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter looks awesome.

  2. Although really, I think a lot of people would trade their social lives for books! The trailer didn’t interest me much it seems a bit ridiculous, however, I think you have a good point.

  3. Ok, this is probably where you write me off completely, but I saw the book in Target about a year ago and I thought ‘cool’. I was waiting for it to go ‘free’ or .99 cents on Kindle (like the Jane Austen one), but now I see that won’t be happening anytime soon. I was never into the whole Jane Austen and zombies thing, but Lincoln is one of my favorite historical figures and I just could see him slaying vampires.

    I didn’t know they were making it into a movie. I’m not that into the movie one way or other, but I’ll probably Netflix it eventually.

Leave a Reply

