Welcome to the Blogfest

I have a happy interlude for you. Might it be unusual? Perhaps. I am about to post a childhood memory of the one and only Martin King. What on earth does this have to do with The Kingdom Trilogy? My weekly features are dissimilar enough.

Well, I was thinking about that too. And I got to thinking. I don’t post only Kingdom stuff up here; I’ll throw up anything that might connect to storytelling. This is a story. It’s not a half0bad story. I invite you to check it out.

By the end of August, Martin’s going to have NINETY-NINE OTHER STORIES LIKE THIS ONE. I suggest you check it out. It’s the #100blogfest, and there is no escaping it.

“Are you sitting comfortably? Are you laid back into your recliner? Then let’s start at the beginning. That first memory… no, not the one where you had your head flushed down the toilet, or putting stink bombs through your neighbour’s letterbox.

We are going way, way back to when you were five or maybe four. Can you go back to that first memory when you were three? Talking of being three, it reminds me of a childhood joke about the criminal breaking out of prison and shouting, “I’m free, I’m free,” only for a nearby kid to reply; “Well, I’m four.”

Anyway, back to this. My very first memory isn’t even when I was two; I was only eighteen months. Yes, it is true… eighteen months!

So you are reading this thinking ‘do you know what, this blog thing is actually quite good.’ Well stop right there. As with most things for the first time; like riding your bike, only to fly over the handle bars and knock your front teeth out, this isn’t that good either.

But still, it is my first memory and to me, it is pretty special. I think what helped kept the moment alive in the innermost sanctum of my brain is the fact that my mum had a picture of me and my baby sister as well. So growing up, I would see the picture hanging on the wall and that in turn would subconsciously keep the tiny first memory flame burning.

Me and my little baby sister were sat in a double pram facing each other outside a laundrette. And that’s it! I know, it’s pretty pathetic really, but it is still real to me and that is what counts.

So this got me thinking, we all must have a precious moment locked away in the deepest, darkest recess of our mind which just needs tugging out. So what is yours? Please feel free to share that happy moment.

These blogs are all about fun and sharing. Thank you for reading a ‘#100blogfest’ blog. Please follow this link to find the next blog in the series: http://martinkingauthor.com/blog/7094550076

Leave a Reply

