The Monday Muse

Happy July 4th! Before I tell you about my inspiring, breathtaking* new feature, I want to be a patriot. I want to salute the men and the women who sacrificed something to make my country, the United States of America. We’ve made a lot of horrible mistakes along the way, but after more than 200 years we’re still trying to become the haven of freedom that a few brave men in the 1700s thought we could be.

That’s worth a celebration, no matter where your loyalties lie.

And now to business. Say hello to the Monday Muse! Every Monday, to start your week off right, I’ll post a song and a quote to get your creative juices flowing. If you want anything else posted, comment below or shoot me a tweet. I’ll see if I can make it happen. I want this feature to melt your brains with it’s magical amazingness, week in and week out.

SONG OF THE WEEK…

“The Might of Rome” by Hans Zimmer

It’s almost two songs. The first part is a classic battle song, slowly building up with violins and drums to something epic. The second part is a soaring, beautiful piece that will fill your imagination with a proud, shining city. Zimmer composed it for Gladiator, Ridley Scott’s Rome epic.

If you need to hear something dramatic, you have got to listen this song.

 

QUOTE OF THE WEEK…

“A man’s country is not a certain area of land, of mountains, rivers, and woods, but it is a principle and patriotism is loyalty to that principle.”

George William Curtis

* = Well, at least it seemed inspiring and breathtaking to me when I posted it. Your appraisal might be somewhat different.

Leave a Reply

